Hodor Takes the Black
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hodor Takes the Black

  1. #1

    Default Hodor Takes the Black

    If Hodor takes the black and has already used his ability does he get to use it again as he is on a different unit with a different player now in control ?

  2. #2

    Default

    Hodor's ability is "Once per game" not "Once per game per player".

    If it's been used it's been used. The Ability doesn't care who controls Hodor, only if it has/hasn't been used already.

  3. #3

    Default

    And the rules that backs that up is or just your opinion ? Came for an official answer.

  4. #4

    Default

    His rule says once per game for this unit. In this case this unit is different both times. so I don't agree with your assessment. It is not once per Hodor, it is once per unit he is attached to.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Toqtamish View Post
    And the rules that backs that up is or just your opinion ? Came for an official answer.
    Ok, well this is a forum for rules talks, not a place to demand official answers. Everything posted here is someone's opinion.

    Further, Hodor's ability doesn't say "once per game for this unit" it says:

    "Once per game, when this unit is targeted for a charge..."

    The comma separates the first item from the rest, it's a qualifier to the second. The ability isn't "Once per game per unit", nor is there any rule on his card or Take the Black that says Abilities "refresh" on the unit. By that same logic if you took an attachment with an expended Order are you saying I can use it again that round?

  6. #6

    Default

    Okay then I will find a different method. I was referred to here for official answers by the website and the discord.

  7. #7

    Default

    The game designer does come on here from time to time to post rulings. However, it has not been on much of a consistent schedule. so I would check back periodically, to see if answered.

    To be fair, OP, I could see why some people might think he would get to use the ability again. The ability does state “this unit”, and not the attachment specifically. Since he is no longer with the same unit, it’s possilbe it could be ruled that he could use the ability again.

    That being said, I think I’d have to side with Alliser on this one. I just don’t think it’s what’s intended. But it is a great topic for discussion!

    Unfortunately, we’d have to wait for Michael for an official response, as all we can do is discuss our views.
    House - Ravenhurst
    Sigil - Black raven on a copper field, clutching paintbrushes
    Words - “We do not Highlight”

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Toqtamish View Post
    And the rules that backs that up is or just your opinion ? Came for an official answer.
    From FAQ 1.3, released today, regarding "Take the Black:"


    Q: If I take an Attachment with a “Once per game” effect that has
    already been used, can I use that effect again?
    A: No.

  9. #9

    Default

    Perfect. Now it is answered officially. Glad I asked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->