Decals/Transfers

Thread: Decals/Transfers

Default Decals/Transfers

I am new to using decals but am painting some Warlord Hail Caesar EI Romans and need to put decals on the shields.
    The plan is to gloss varnish (AP Quickshade) then add decal, then spray Matt or satin varnish to fix. Hopefully that will save the need to buy special decal fixer but grateful for any pointers if this is likely to be a bad idea.
    My main question is how to apply decals to those shields in the box which have holes and scratches and other battle damage over the surface. Should I fix the decals then remove segments to expose the holes etc, or try to shape the decal before adding to the mini?
    Thanks in advance

Hi Griff,

for applying decals its always helpful to applay a coat of gloss varnish first to get a smooth surface to reduce micro airbubbles under the applied decal.
    Gloss varnish should be used to seal the decal and it makes the transparent film at the edges of the decals invisible. So start with gloss and finish with gloss, when all is dry you can use satin or matt or whatever you like.

For applying decals over holes and scratches I would use a decal softener which would make the scratches and holes underneath the decal more visible and easier to cut out.

Regards