Complex situation - Last Stand vs last units on the table.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Complex situation - Last Stand vs last units on the table.

  1. #1

    Default Complex situation - Last Stand vs last units on the table.

    Hi,

    Yesterday a situation occurred, where player A (Lannisters) charged with his last unit on the table against player B's (Stark) last unit on the table.

    The charge from the Lannister player destroyed the stark player's last unit which triggered the card Last Stand which states that, the unit unit makes a melee attack before it is removed from the table.

    The attack from Last Stand destroyed the Lannister's Last unit.

    What happens at this point?

    Are both unit removed simultaneously and therefore you use VPs as tie-breaker?

    Is the Lannister's unit removed first and therefore the stark player claims victory?

    An official answer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    Last edited by TrePalle; 06-11-2019 at 05:36 AM.
    What is dead may never die, but rises again Harder and Stronger

  2. #2

    Default

    Currently I think Stark would win, here are the wordings associated....

    Rulebook Page 28
    • If a player ever has no Combat Units remaining on the table,they are eliminated. In a 2-player game, this means theiropponent immediately wins, regardless of total Victory Points.

    Last Stand Tactic Card


    Before the Stark unit is removed, thus not triggering the End of Game condition, Last Stand would destroy the Lannister unit and remove it from the field, thus triggering the end of game conditions in favor of House Stark. Could be wrong though. Cheers

  3. #3

    Default

    Agree.

    Competition wise it should be ruled a Stark Victory.

    For fun sake and narrative play... Great story and as close to a tie as anyone can get.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks guys.
    What is dead may never die, but rises again Harder and Stronger

  5. #5

    Default

    That card really feels like it should have been a "when a friendly unit would be destroyed" instead of "when a friendly unit is destroyed" trigger, since it tell you to do something before it is removed.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlad3theimpaler View Post
    That card really feels like it should have been a "when a friendly unit would be destroyed" instead of "when a friendly unit is destroyed" trigger, since it tell you to do something before it is removed.
    Completely agree. Like in the case of Jon Snow's card "It shall not end until my death..." Moreover, it would allow the unit to take advantage of any attachment they would have as it was intentionally stated by Micheal Shinall in this post http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/...ards-questions
    What is dead may never die, but rises again Harder and Stronger

  7. #7

    Default

    By strictest rules, the game ends when you have no more combat units on the table, unlike other conditions which check at the end of the round, so the game would end right then and there.

    Thematically though, I like the Last Stand scenario, but again, by the written rules, it doesn't play out that way.

  8. #8

    Default

    Alliser's comment is correct here. As soon as a player has no Combat Units remaining on the table, the game immediately ends in Victory for their opponent. So while, thematically, the "dual-kill" ending is better, if we're dealing in a tournament structure, Victory would go to the Lannister player.
    Designer and Senior Developer
    A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks for your reply.
    What is dead may never die, but rises again Harder and Stronger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->