Affliction Timing Usage
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Affliction Timing Usage

  1. #1

    Default Affliction Timing Usage

    Here's the scenario...

    1: Baratheon Wardens attack

    2: Defending unit rolls saves and gets at least a 1

    3: That unit gains a Weakened token

    4: Can I spend the Weakened token as a Vulnerable token to make them reroll the successful save rolls they had just previously rolled?

  2. #2

    Default

    No. You don't apply the Weakened until rolls are final, and by that point you can't force anymore re-rolls.

    Aka no, you can't have your cake and eat it too.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    No. You don't apply the Weakened until rolls are final, and by that point you can't force anymore re-rolls.

    Aka no, you can't have your cake and eat it too.

    I am totally cool with that, but can you provide a rules source?

  4. #4

    Default

    The rulebook. Re-rolls and order of operations.

    Re-Rolls
    Numerous effects might allow for dice to be re-rolled. When re-rolling dice, the following rules apply:
    • A die may only ever be re-rolled once by each player.
    • The previous result from a re-rolled die is discarded and has no effect on gameplay, being replaced by the new result entirely.
    • If both players have an effect that would cause a die to be re-rolled, the active player’s re-roll happens first, then their opponent’s.
    • If both players have optional effects that would allow dice to be re-rolled, then follow the rules outlined under Simultaneous Actions (pg. 23).

    More so, the order of operations on resolving attacks as well. You [b] do not [\b] generate results until after all rerolls.

    Again, here you are trying to gain a benifit of a result before you've even finalized your results, then apply an effect from the result you haven't even gained.

    This would be like trying to apply Critical Blow from a roll of six, then rerolling all your attack dice afterwards.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    The rulebook. Re-rolls and order of operations.

    Re-Rolls
    Numerous effects might allow for dice to be re-rolled. When re-rolling dice, the following rules apply:
    • A die may only ever be re-rolled once by each player.
    • The previous result from a re-rolled die is discarded and has no effect on gameplay, being replaced by the new result entirely.
    • If both players have an effect that would cause a die to be re-rolled, the active player’s re-roll happens first, then their opponent’s.
    • If both players have optional effects that would allow dice to be re-rolled, then follow the rules outlined under Simultaneous Actions (pg. 23).

    More so, the order of operations on resolving attacks as well. You [b] do not [\b] generate results until after all rerolls.

    Again, here you are trying to gain a benifit of a result before you've even finalized your results, then apply an effect from the result you haven't even gained.

    This would be like trying to apply Critical Blow from a roll of six, then rerolling all your attack dice afterwards.

    Perfect. Thank you for digging deeper!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->