Brother in Arms clarification
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Brother in Arms clarification

  1. #1

    Default Brother in Arms clarification

    Does the skill associated with the B.I.A only work for the character if there is another character on the same square. ie B.I.A. Search 2 Cards will only allow to search 2 cards if another character there? I have the Kabuki characters and half of them have B.I.A skills on the blue starting skills so this seems harsh and they are being penalised. If the skill can be used by them anytime the same as other skills but grants others on the same square the ability it seems fairer. This is especially true when you look at all the Gang and 10 skills across the 6 characters are B.I.A.

    The Rule wording seems vague as B.I.A Effect only works with 2 or more characters but the skill itself should work.

    I am hoping Cmon can officially clarify this wording.

  2. #2

    Default

    The skill description in the Z:Invader booklet states:
    Brother in arms: [game effect] – The Survivor can usethis Skill whenever they are standing in the same Zone asat least one other Survivor As long as Brother in arms isactive, each Survivor in the Zone (including the one withthis Skill) bene ts from the indicated Skill or game effect

    So you don't get to use the skill if there are no other Survivors in your Zone. However, all Survivors get to use the skill if it's active, not just the Survivor with the skill.
    Last edited by serbaelish; 08-17-2019 at 01:55 AM.
    "Distrusting me was the wisest thing you've done since you climbed down off your horse." -Littlefinger

  3. #3

    Default

    Thats my point, B.I.A is an effect not a skill.

    Shouldnt the skill still work solo but the B.I.A Effect only apply only if another Survivor on the zone? The wording is not great in the booklet as it can be interpretted both ways so I am after an official response from the creators to clarify how the mean it to be read.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jorrack View Post
    Thats my point, B.I.A is an effect not a skill.

    Shouldnt the skill still work solo but the B.I.A Effect only apply only if another Survivor on the zone? The wording is not great in the booklet as it can be interpretted both ways so I am after an official response from the creators to clarify how the mean it to be read.
    Where are you getting that BIA is an effect? It's in the skill list of the card--so it's a skill. Now, it has an impact on a game effect, but it isn't an effect.

    So, a literal interpretation of the skill description means that you can't use it without another Survivor present. It can be a very powerful skill (you can confer it to five other Survivors, after all), so not being able to use it solo is a pretty reasonable, IMHO.

    Understand you'd want an official response, though.
    "Distrusting me was the wisest thing you've done since you climbed down off your horse." -Littlefinger

  5. #5

    Default

    The description states.
    Brother in arms: [game effect]

    – The Survivor can use this Skill whenever they are standing in the same Zone as at least one other Survivor. As long as Brother in arms is active, each Survivor in the Zone (including the one with this Skill) benefits from the indicated Skill or game effect

    No other description mentions game effect next to it.
    .

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jorrack View Post
    The description states.
    Brother in arms: [game effect]

    – The Survivor can use this Skill whenever they are standing in the same Zone as at least one other Survivor. As long as Brother in arms is active, each Survivor in the Zone (including the one with this Skill) benefits from the indicated Skill or game effect

    No other description mentions game effect next to it.
    That text is in brackets and uses the generic phrase "game effect" because it can apply to both other skills (Sniper) and actions (Search).

    But it's a skill. It's described in the skills section of the rulebook. The very first sentence of the description calls it a skill. It's placed on the skill listing of the survivor card.

    Totally understand you want an official interpretation, so you can house rule your reading if you like, if it gets you killing Xenos faster! :Wink:
    "Distrusting me was the wisest thing you've done since you climbed down off your horse." -Littlefinger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->