Free folk tips and Tricks
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Free folk tips and Tricks

  1. #1

    Default Free folk tips and Tricks

    I am a fairly New player so i would like to ask the more experinced players for a few tips and Tricks.

    How and why and when would i do These so called "Harma slingshots"

    What tactic cards is worth keeping? Can you always discard rattleshirt cards because he can just get them from discard pile?

    Any hidden wombo combos you Are Willing to share?

  2. #2

    Default

    There is some really good advice in the State of the FreeFolk thread.

    Harma attachment just gives you a free maneuver, so you can easily get two maneuvers on a giant (lady Val NCU) before he activates. This helps you choose who he smashes.

  3. #3

    Default

    A weird question came up today in one of My games.
    If rattleshirt Has an ability attached to a unit in the "clash of kings" game mode, and that unit dies. Does the card/ability then stay on the unit for when i deploy it again the next round?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Badger View Post
    How and why and when would i do These so called "Harma slingshots"
    The Harma Slingshot is usually most valuable turn 1 or 2, to get a Giant or Cave Dwellers to charge the enemy unexpectedly, and from a long way away.
    Usually it's some combination of:
    - Claim the Maneuver zone, move the unit 5-6" forward
    - Activate a unit with Harma in it, move the unit 5-6" forward again
    - Activate Val, move the unit 5-6" forward
    - If the unit has Rattleshirt, you can march forward 12" and still claim Swords to charge

    This can let you get a turn 1 charge off, especially if you're playing a game with a Long Range deployment zone, or against enemy cavalry that over-extends itself.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Badger View Post
    What tactic cards is worth keeping?
    Endless Hordes is a trap, toss it in most game modes (Fire and Blood is maybe an exception)

    Regroup and Reform, Swift Advance, Group Assault and Surrounded and Exposed are all excellent.

    Distraction Tactics is awful, always toss it.
    There's Too Many is situational. Toss it if you draw it early, but sometimes it can be useful.


    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Badger View Post
    Can you always discard rattleshirt cards because he can just get them from discard pile?
    Unless you want to give it to another unit without using Rattleshirt's ability, toss 'em in the bin

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AutumnLeaves View Post

    Endless Hordes is a trap, toss it in most game modes (Fire and Blood is maybe an exception)
    Endless hordes can be game winning, but I would agree that unless you can use it on the turn coming up, you probably want to pitch it. Don't hold onto it if you can't use it quickly.

  6. #6

    Default

    So today a buddy of mine pointe something out to me. I think hes right but I wish he wasnt because it makes jarl les cool.
    So if you take a skinchanger in a unit with jarl and deploy it on the flank then you can not deploy a bear with them.. Well unless you deploy the bear in your own deploymentzone... And then it will die in the start of the next round unles you get it within long range of Jarls unit...

  7. #7

    Default

    Your buddy is correct. So you would need to plan for that when deploying Jarl, or put the Skinchanger elsewhere.
    House - Ravenhurst
    Sigil - Black raven on a copper field, clutching paintbrushes
    Words - “We do not Highlight”

  8. #8

    Default

    Hey Guys. I played a game of clash of kings today. And we had some argueing about how jarl would work in this scenario.
    I started by deploying 2 units. And then i claim the horse and deployed Jarls unit.. Is that legal?
    The wording is a little tricky because its says that i May hold the unit off the table instead of deploying them. And then i can claim the horse to Come in from a flank egde.
    So if i want to make a jarl play in first round am i then suppose to only deploy one unit?
    And how would he work when i can put him back on the table? Its very confusing...

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Badger View Post
    Hey Guys. I played a game of clash of kings today. And we had some argueing about how jarl would work in this scenario.
    I started by deploying 2 units. And then i claim the horse and deployed Jarls unit.. Is that legal?
    The wording is a little tricky because its says that i May hold the unit off the table instead of deploying them. And then i can claim the horse to Come in from a flank egde.
    So if i want to make a jarl play in first round am i then suppose to only deploy one unit?
    And how would he work when i can put him back on the table? Its very confusing...
    You use Jarl's ability "instead of deploying them as normal" - so if you want to use Jarl's ability, you'd only be able to deploy one other combat unit.

    After he's been destroyed, when you would deploy him again using the CoK rules, you can instead announce that he's going to outflank using his ability. After that, you are able to redeploy him by claiming the Cavalry zone (but you can't deploy him using the regular CoK rules)

  10. #10

    Default

    Does that Mean that its a deployment turn to use Jarls ability?
    So in any other game mode i can use My first deployment to "not deploy" jarl?

  11. #11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->