Unsullied Officer
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unsullied Officer

  1. #1

    Default Unsullied Officer

    My first post, be gentle.

    unsullied Officer

    “At the start of a friendly turn: Instead of activating a unit, this unit makes 1 free attack action.”

    With the attachment, unsullied officer, the unit get free attack and does that counts as your turn? To me, the word instead give you a choice to make; the unsullied free attack or you can activate a unit. Don’t get 2 swings.

    thoughts?

  2. #2

    Default

    Order says "instead of activating Unit .. makes 1 Free Attack action". So it is a turn without activation.


    Sequence of this Order:

    - Your turn starts.
    - You trigger that order, instead of activating Unit.
    - Perform the said Free Attack action with that Unit.
    - Attack completes, Free attack action ends.
    - Turn ends.
    - You do not place any activation tokens (you did that Order instead of activating any Units).
    - Next (opponents) turn.

  3. #3

    Default

    Yes... free attack instead of activating a unit. This makes sense, give an army with low activation count an extra turn. But it is not a free attack before your activation.

  4. #4

    Default

    Ya, its basically a conditional extra activation, which can potentially offset a disadvantage if you are only playing 6-7 activations

  5. #5

    Default

    Could you use him even if you don't have a valid attack option? ie no raged attacks and not engaged

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce635 View Post
    Could you use him even if you don't have a valid attack option? ie no raged attacks and not engaged
    In my RAW interpretation, yes, definitely.
    I have heard alternative interpretations also (that you could not).
    I have not seen official answer or source to make sure of this.

    But RAW is in my mind clear, this what happens:
    - That Order is triggered At the start of a friendly turn (there is nothing that would not allow you to trigger this, legality is not checked here)
    - That Unit gains Free Attack Action, instead of you activating any other Unit (there is nothing that would not allow you to gain this, legality is not checked here).
    - You start resolving that Free Attack Action (legality is checked when this is being resolved as per rules).
    - You have no legal way to perform attack action, so the action is quite immediately concluded and the action ends.
    - Turn ends.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->