Well. Sorry for this question. I think it is answered at General FAQ. My friends don't agree.
When an engaging enemy unit is destroyed by other reason except melee attack. like
1. Panic test from ability or tactics board crown effect.
2. Abilities like Styr's influence.
3. Or it's own order or ability like 'UMBER RAGE'.
Can a unit pivot?
I think case 3 can be. because it happens while doing melee attack. even if not by mine.
But I don't think it happens because the rule "Surge forth" is about a case "When my unit destroys and enemy".
Even in case 1 and 2, I think a unit can't pivot.
But my friends think it can. Because they read boxed article "Surge Forth" have two different sentences.
1. attacker's free maneuver
2. other unit's free pivot.
I think those two case is subordinated to a melee attack of a unit. But they think it is not.
They think free pivot is different case. So even if it is destroyed by other source like case 1 and 2, they can pivot. (friend and enemy alike).
Can I get and answer? Because English it not our native language, very simple article can make and argument.
Thank you in advance.
Bookmarks