Wet palette woes ... any tips appreciated.

Thread: Wet palette woes ... any tips appreciated.

Default Wet palette woes ... any tips appreciated.

I've been using a wet palette for about two years now, and I must admit that I question whether it's worth it.

I have little control over paint-consistency. At least with a normal palette, I can keep adding some thinning medium if the paint gets thick. And I really miss having a concave dish as opposed to a flat surface, which I think contributes to the problem.

The paint ends up spread so thinly (especially if needs to be mixed) that the consistency just ends up wrecked. To make it worse, it's completely unpredictable which way it's going to go. Take the examples in the photo below.

Those paints were laid down within five minutes of each other, yet the green one is un-usable due to being too watery and separated, and the grey one is completely dry.

FWIW, I have experimented with different levels of hydration with the palette, from wringing the sponge out all the way to having it floating in water.

I must be doing something wrong. Any help appreciated.

Name:  20210211-103231.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  61.2 KB

I'm sorry I can't help with advice as I'm brand new to painting myself. I just wanted to say that I have been having big problems with wet palettes too. I see all the advice to thin paints a lot and use many layers to glaze and make great blends but when I thin the paint on a wet palette it just spreads and runs the whole way across the palette, inevitably mixing with anything else on the palette in the process.. so.. yeah, I'm sorry that I'm of absolutely no help but I just wanted to let you know you're not the only one having issues with something that seemingly ought to be straightforward..