"commanders Unit"
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: "commanders Unit"

  1. #1

    Default "commanders Unit"

    "Commander's Unit"
    This term is used in game modes and abilities. What exactly is the definition of this term? and how does it interact with Jaqen attachment, Clash of Kings, Here We Stand, Balon NCU, etc. To be more precise, can there be more than 1 Commander Unit in the game?

  2. #2

    Default

    Your "Commander's unit" refers to the current unit that your Commander is in. If an effect moves them from their original unit to another, the new unit would be your Commander's unit.

    If a Commander is destroyed and subsequently redeployed via some method (or in situation like Jaqen becoming a copy of that Attachment) then, as stated above, whatever unit they are currently attached to is your "Commander's Unit".

    In extremely rare scenarios, such as Jaqen copying a Commander, then that Commander unit redeploying via Clash of Kings (as units are re-deployed exactly as they started, regardless of other board-states), there are situations where you could potentially have two copies of your Commander in play for a period of time, resulting in also having two of your "Commander's units". As mentioned, however, these interactions are rare and the result of specific interactions and/or planning usually, so good planning/tactics.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  3. #3

    Default

    If the commander is killed by duelist, is that unit no longer a "Commanders Unit"?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kragst View Post
    If the commander is killed by duelist, is that unit no longer a "Commanders Unit"?
    As stated above, if the Commander is not in the unit, for any reason, then it's not your Commander's Unit any longer.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  5. #5

    Default

    Sorry to bump up an older thread, but I have a related question

    If Renly's unit is revived on multiple units, do they all trigger from such effect (that mentions Renly) or only 1 of them?

    Name:  40610.jpg
Views: 383
Size:  104.7 KB

  6. #6

    Default

    If Renly is your Commander, whatever unit he is in is your Commander's unit. If you somehow have multiple Renlys in play (which is possible), they can all be targeted by cards/effects based on your Commander's unit.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  7. #7

    Default

    But does the effect happen multiple times per trigger or just once (need to select which Renly)?

  8. #8

    Default

    I also have a follow up question. Does this mean if Vargo or Expert duelist destroys the commander in Clash of Kings, and it is "no longer the commanders unit", then the unit doesnt respawn?

  9. #9

    Default

    You know you can read the thread , and especially Michael's answers, before post those kind of "follow-up question" ? Because he already answered it, in this thread.... If we do want CMON to continue answering questions, we all have to make some efforts please !

    Here is your official answer : "In extremely rare scenarios, such as Jaqen copying a Commander, then that Commander unit redeploying via Clash of Kings (as units are re-deployed exactly as they started, regardless of other board-states)"

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cnbusch View Post
    You know you can read the thread , and especially Michael's answers, before post those kind of "follow-up question" ? Because he already answered it, in this thread.... If we do want CMON to continue answering questions, we all have to make some efforts please !

    Here is your official answer : "In extremely rare scenarios, such as Jaqen copying a Commander, then that Commander unit redeploying via Clash of Kings (as units are re-deployed exactly as they started, regardless of other board-states)"
    that doesn’t answer the interaction of me destroying the commander via Expert Duelist in clash of kings. He stated that it’s no longer the commanders unit, therefore I want to ask if it still gets to redeploy or not. This has nothing to do with Jaqen, etc. It has to do with if “it’s not longer the commander unit” and only commander units get to respawn in clash of kings.

    Thanks for trying to police the threads though. I read through it and it still wasn’t clear to me (and others, as I asked first, you know, since I’m playing in the finals of a big online tournament this week and could use Vargo to kill the commander). Pretty sure they also don’t want these forums to become other players acting like they know more than others. I also asked the TO about this and they also weren’t clear about the interaction in clash. But again, thanks dad, for trying to be a help, but it’s still not clear.
    Last edited by bohms27; 08-25-2021 at 07:16 AM.

  11. #11

    Default

    When a unit is returned to the Battlefield it is returned in exactly the same state that it began the game in. At the start of the game there was only 1 unit containing Renly, and it would be the only eligible one to be re-deployed via those rules. This does not, however, interfere if somehow Renly was (at the time) in another unit (via being moved, returned via other effects, etc).
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  12. #12

    Default

    What if Jaqen copies enemy commander?
    Does his unit now counts also as Commander unit?
    So you will have two commander units?

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valenae View Post
    What if Jaqen copies enemy commander?
    Does his unit now counts also as Commander unit?
    So you will have two commander units?
    Commanders are chosen for your army during list creation. Copying an opponent's Commander does not suddenly make them your army's Commander.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    Commanders are chosen for your army during list creation. Copying an opponent's Commander does not suddenly make them your army's Commander.
    This is correct for the reason stated. Copying an Enemy Commander does not make it your army's Commander.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->