Who is a target
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Who is a target

  1. #1

    Default Who is a target

    Is it possible to clarify the notion of target ?
    For example, if I use a token from Davos (NCU) activating my unit, is it possible to my opponent to play a card like "Lash out " ?
    Lash out does not specifically target the Night watch unit, but the condition to be used is "not to be destroyed". It means, in a way the condition "targets" the Night watch unit.
    So could you give a expanded rule of the meaning " target" ?

    And all in all does the Davos order looks like the 1.6 card "winter is coming" ?
    Last edited by Alaric1; 08-13-2021 at 01:43 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Per rulebook:

    TARGET: This refers to the chosen recipient of an Ability or effect(such as Orders or Tactics Cards). [Common Game Terms]

    TRIGGER:Each Tactics card listsa specific trigger notingwhen it can be played.It is important tonote that triggers arebased off of gameplayevents and steps, notthe specific wordingof the trigger.The unit triggeringthe Tactics card (ifany) is the target ofthat Tactics Card, butnote that Its effectmight list additionaltargets as well. [Tactics Cards]

    ORDERS: Orders are powerful Abilities that may be activated only onceper round. Each Order lists a specific trigger noting when it canbe activated. It is important to note that triggers are based off ofgame-play events and steps, not the specific wording of the trigger.The unit with the Order is the target of that Order (if any), but notethat Its effect might list additional targets as well.


    ------------------------

    Lash Out's trigger is "After an enemy completes a Melee Attack". It targets the Attacking enemy, and nothing in its text refers to targeting the Defender. They are merely the item that is checked to see what negative effects happen to the Attacker, but none of the effect is targeting them.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks a lot for your answer.
    If I understand "Lash out is playable in the case of Davos order being played (or Axell Florent influence) as it doesn't target the defender ? Am I right ?
    Last edited by Alaric1; 08-13-2021 at 02:38 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alaric1 View Post
    Thanks a lot for your answer.
    If I understand "Lash out is playable in the case of Davos order being played (or Axell Florent influence) as it doesn't target the defender ? Am I right ?
    That is correct. The card is targeting the Attacker, not the Defender.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  5. #5

  6. #6

    Default

    For the Builder Crossbowmen "Order: Ready! Aim! Release!", it indicates that the unit performs 1 Ranged Attack action on the charging enemy.

    Noted that as per Order rules under page 22, the Builder Crossbowmen itself is a target of the Order.

    In such a case, does that Order
    a) only target the Builder Crossbowmen (which in turn targets the charging enemy)?
    b) also target the charging enemy?

    Specifically asking with relation to ïnfluence such as that of Barristan Selmy NCU, if it has to be applied to the Builder Crossbowmen (thus telegraphing an attack), or if it can be applied directly on the charging unit (which may telegraph an attack less if that unit can charge multiple other units and/or is busy with other units)
    Last edited by Zyraen; 08-16-2021 at 12:35 PM.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyraen View Post
    For the Builder Crossbowmen "Order: Ready! Aim! Release!", it indicates that the unit performs 1 Ranged Attack action on the charging enemy.

    Noted that as per Order rules under page 22, the Builder Crossbowmen itself is a target of the Order.

    In such a case, does that Order
    a) only target the Builder Crossbowmen (which in turn targets the charging enemy)?
    b) also target the charging enemy?

    Specifically asking with relation to ïnfluence such as that of Barristan Selmy NCU, if it has to be applied to the Builder Crossbowmen (thus telegraphing an attack), or if it can be applied directly on the charging unit (which may telegraph an attack less if that unit can charge multiple other units and/or is busy with other units)
    As you said, the Order is targeting the Builder Crossbowmen via the targeting definition for Orders. At no point is the Order targeting the Attacker, their Action is only the event triggering the Order.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  8. #8

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Michael Shinall View Post
    As you said, the Order is targeting the Builder Crossbowmen via the targeting definition for Orders. At no point is the Order targeting the Attacker, their Action is only the event triggering the Order.
    Ok, now I'm confused. For Tactics Cards, the unit that triggers them is considered a target - but this is not true of Orders?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hecaton View Post
    Ok, now I'm confused. For Tactics Cards, the unit that triggers them is considered a target - but this is not true of Orders?
    The targeting definitions were posted above, they are not the same for Tactics Cards and Orders. Cards say they list who the trigger is in the text. Orders have rules that state they always target the unit they are on unless otherwise stated (aka Orders always default to their own unit, tactics cards dont do this).

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    Orders have rules that state they always target the unit they are on unless otherwise stated (aka Orders always default to their own unit, tactics cards dont do this).
    Just a slight technical clarification, Orders have rules that state they always target the unit they are on, full stop. Orders may ALSO call for a second target (an example would be War Cry which explicitly says "target 1 enemy unit in long range"), this is in addition to targeting themselves, not instead of.

    You may have understood this already, I hope I don't sound condescending, but it's worth being extra clear about it.
    Last edited by Spleen; 08-19-2021 at 06:02 AM.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    The targeting definitions were posted above, they are not the same for Tactics Cards and Orders. Cards say they list who the trigger is in the text. Orders have rules that state they always target the unit they are on unless otherwise stated (aka Orders always default to their own unit, tactics cards dont do this).
    I'm actually not so sure this is intentional; previous FAQ rulings indicated that units mentioned in the trigger for orders were targeted too.

  13. #13

    Default

    The unit in the trigger of the Order may be an additional target. However this is not by default but only if it is a chosen recipient of the effect of the Order.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->