"Completely Overlap"
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: "Completely Overlap"

  1. #1

    Default "Completely Overlap"

    New player - sorry if this has been asked/answered thousands of times before, but I couldn't find anything in a search so here goes:

    In the game mode, "A Game of Thrones" it states "A unit ending a move with its tray entirely overlapping a token Claims that token."

    The problem is the definition of "overlap" and the word "entirely":

    According to the Oxford dictionary, overlap means

    1. extend over so as to cover partly.
    2. a part or amount which overlaps


    Merriam-Webster defines it as:
    1. a part or amount which overlaps
    2. to occupy the same area in part


    You get the idea. To overlap, by definition is to cover partially...adding the word "entirely" creates a contradiction as you cannot "entirely partially" do something...

    So, to claim an objective token, do I "entirely cover" it, or do I merely "overlap" it?

    M.

  2. #2

    Default

    "Entirely cover"

    In a previous version, it used to be that you only had to touch the token. You also got to place tokens in some game modes (so long as they were 6" apart. This created a situation where one unit could be controlling two objectives at once.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yelraek View Post
    "Entirely cover"

    In a previous version, it used to be that you only had to touch the token. You also got to place tokens in some game modes (so long as they were 6" apart. This created a situation where one unit could be controlling two objectives at once.

    Thank you for the clarification.

    Any chance for a rewrite on the word "overlap" - changing it to "cover" would completely remove any ambiguity.

    M
    Last edited by Morticanis; 09-12-2021 at 11:18 AM.

  4. #4

    Default

    As stated above, you must be completely overlapping the token, this means no part of it is not being covered by the unit's tray.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Michael Shinall View Post
    As stated above, you must be completely overlapping the token, this means no part of it is not being covered by the unit's tray.

    Completely understand the rule - thank you for the clarification - my question and subsequent comment above has to do with the definition of the word "overlap". Since the definition of overlap states "partly" covering something is overlapping, a more accurate phrasing would be to simply say "entirely cover" or "Completely cover". This rules out any ambiguity in the phrasing.

    Obviously, the game won't come to a screeching halt if this isn't accomplished today (tomorrow at the latest)...but possibly in future editions...

    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->