Diversion Tactics when the target of the original attack is dead?
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Diversion Tactics when the target of the original attack is dead?

  1. #1

    Default Diversion Tactics when the target of the original attack is dead?

    Diversion Tactics (FF Tactics Card) reads:

    After an enemy completes a Melee Attack: Target 1 other friendly unit in Long Range of the Defender, it performs 1 Maneuver Action

    There's been some debate around whether or not you can actually use this card when the triggering attack kills it's target. one group maintains that the unit was in long range of the defender which should be enough, another states that much like the FAQ ruling for Final Strike which states a destroyed unit is not engaged so cannot nominate a target properly, a destroyed unit is not within Long Range of any other units so similarly cannot nominate a Diversion Tactics target.

    I'm curious which is the correct resolution here.

  2. #2

    Default

    By wording of the card no, it couldn't be used* if the defender was destroyed, as there is now no other units in Long Range.

    *The card could still be played, as the trigger is met, but it just wouldn't do anything.

  3. #3

    Default

    As mentioned above, the text of the card states that you target 1 other friendly unit in Long Range of the Defender. At resolution of the card, if the triggering unit was destroyed, there are no units within Long Range, as it is no longer on the battlefield.
    CMON Design and Development Manager
    Designer: A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft, Bloodborne, Masters of the Universe: Clash for Eternia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->