Target of Final Strike tactic card.
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Target of Final Strike tactic card.

  1. #1

    Default Target of Final Strike tactic card.

    Hello everyone! the target of final strike (baratheon tactic card) is the attacker? the defender? or the engaged unit who will recieve the hits from this tactic?
    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Default

    either the enemy that made the initial attack, or the enemy that would suffer the hits. ( units that cause a tactic card trigger to be met are automatically targets via rulebook, and the there is a choice of unit to suffer hits )
    Last edited by TheRedGod; 12-06-2021 at 02:02 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    The card states "...one enemy [the Baratheon unit] are engaged with suffers 1 Hit."
    Despite the trigger being "After an enemy completes an Attack:" and the corollary being "For each wound the Defender suffered from this attack" this can target the attacker themselves as well as any other enemy unit the Baratheon unit is engaged with in case of a multi-unit engagement.

    For reference:

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Vulfhart View Post
    Hello everyone! the target of final strike (baratheon tactic card) is the attacker? the defender? or the engaged unit who will recieve the hits from this tactic?
    Thanks!
    Anybody mentioned in the trigger (The first bolded sentence followed by the colon) is a target of a tactics card (but not an order). So since the enemy attacking unit is mentioned in the trigger, it targets them.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hecaton View Post
    Anybody mentioned in the trigger (The first bolded sentence followed by the colon) is a target of a tactics card (but not an order). So since the enemy attacking unit is mentioned in the trigger, it targets them.
    It is written one enemy engaged with the Defender, it is not written specifically the Attacker.
    Last edited by Blackjack006; 12-06-2021 at 03:44 PM.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackjack006 View Post
    It is written one enemy engaged with the Defender, it is not written specifically the Attacker.
    As I mentioned, and this is in the rulebook, anybody mentioned in the bolded trigger section of the card is considered targeted.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hecaton View Post
    As I mentioned, and this is in the rulebook, anybody mentioned in the bolded trigger section of the card is considered targeted.
    Yes yes, but that wasn't the geist of the original question, namely 'Who's subjected to the Last Strike card effect?' Answer is: whatever enemy unit is engaged with the Baratheon unit that was able to "use" the card, as written on the card itself.

  8. #8

    Default

    One enemy they are engaged with means ANY enemy they are engaged with. Not specifically the attacker.

    The wording of the rules : "The unit triggering the Tactics card (if any) is the target of that Tactics Card, but note that Its effect might list additional targets as well".
    Other enemy engaged with the Defender are additionnal targets.
    Last edited by Blackjack006; 12-07-2021 at 08:48 AM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleman View Post
    Yes yes, but that wasn't the geist of the original question, namely 'Who's subjected to the Last Strike card effect?' Answer is: whatever enemy unit is engaged with the Baratheon unit that was able to "use" the card, as written on the card itself.
    They used the word "targeted" in OP.

  10. #10

    Default

    Yes, as the target of the card effect. That seems obvious, doesn't it? It's just a matter of reading further down the card.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleman View Post
    Yes, as the target of the card effect. That seems obvious, doesn't it? It's just a matter of reading further down the card.
    Aight, whatever, you clearly don't understand what I'm saying.

  12. #12

  13. #13

    Default

    Also make note that attacker may not be engaged with defender after it completes attack and still get hits.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valenae View Post
    Also make note that attacker may not be engaged with defender after it completes attack and still get hits.
    No, if the attacker isn't engaged with the defender at that point, they cannot receive hits. It's part of why this card is written improperly - if the defender is killed by the attack, they cannot use Final Strike.

  15. #15

    Default

    Yes.
    Attacker can be unengaged and defender still alive.
    There are abilities that allow retreat.

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valenae View Post
    Yes.
    Attacker can be unengaged and defender still alive.
    There are abilities that allow retreat.
    You said the exact opposite on your last post. What are you getting at?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->