Bribery vs Catelyn Stark.
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Bribery vs Catelyn Stark.

  1. #1

    Default Bribery vs Catelyn Stark.

    Hi All,

    Just wondering what would happen if the same unit is affected by the Lannister bribery tactic card and Catelyn Stark?
    Bribery causes the unit to use the lowest dice number and Catelyn causes the unit to use the highest dice number.

    Which one would take affect, or it would be the one that is put second?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default Probably Simultaneous Actions, page 21 of the rulebook

    There's an effect conflict, which is resolved under "Simultaneous Actions" (in this case multiple effects are triggering during the "determine attack dice" step of "Resolving Attacks," page 17 of the rulebook.

    In MOST cases that means the attack will happen with minimum dice:

    1) Stark player declares the attack on the Stark turn

    2) Stark player determines attack dice, triggering Catelyn, according to the rule

    3) Lannister player triggers Bribery, according to turn order for simultaneous actions

    4) Stark player rolls minimum dice

    There is an EXCEPTION, and that's if Brynden Tully, The Blackfish, plays "Set for Charge" during the Lannister turn.

    Then...

    1) Lannister player charges the unit with both Catelyn and Bribery attached to it

    2) Stark player plays "Set for Charge," which allows Stark to attack after the charge is successful but prior to the Lannister attack.

    2a) So, Stark is attacking on the Lannister turn

    3) Thus, Stark player determines attack dice

    4) Lannister player triggers the effect of Bribery first, because it's the Lannister turn

    5) Stark player triggers the effect of Catelyn afterwards, overriding the bribery effect

    6) Set for Charge attack proceeds, rolling maximum dice

    Quote Originally Posted by Strahil Rangelov View Post
    Hi All,

    Just wondering what would happen if the same unit is affected by the Lannister bribery tactic card and Catelyn Stark?
    Bribery causes the unit to use the lowest dice number and Catelyn causes the unit to use the highest dice number.

    Which one would take affect, or it would be the one that is put second?

    Thanks in advance!

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SupremeLeaderTywin View Post
    There's an effect conflict, which is resolved under "Simultaneous Actions" (in this case multiple effects are triggering during the "determine attack dice" step of "Resolving Attacks," page 17 of the rulebook.

    In MOST cases that means the attack will happen with minimum dice:

    1) Stark player declares the attack on the Stark turn

    2) Stark player determines attack dice, triggering Catelyn, according to the rule

    3) Lannister player triggers Bribery, according to turn order for simultaneous actions

    4) Stark player rolls minimum dice

    There is an EXCEPTION, and that's if Brynden Tully, The Blackfish, plays "Set for Charge" during the Lannister turn.

    Then...

    1) Lannister player charges the unit with both Catelyn and Bribery attached to it

    2) Stark player plays "Set for Charge," which allows Stark to attack after the charge is successful but prior to the Lannister attack.

    2a) So, Stark is attacking on the Lannister turn

    3) Thus, Stark player determines attack dice

    4) Lannister player triggers the effect of Bribery first, because it's the Lannister turn

    5) Stark player triggers the effect of Catelyn afterwards, overriding the bribery effect

    6) Set for Charge attack proceeds, rolling maximum dice

    The rulebook specifics that in the event of "roll highest" vs. "roll lowest" lowest win. Its in the "Dice Modifiers and Re-Rolls" section

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->