Ranged Attacks and Shifting
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ranged Attacks and Shifting

  1. #1

    Default Ranged Attacks and Shifting

    I'm seeing a lot of people post on FB about this, and I'm not sure what to believe.

    From my reading of the rules, I believe that when determining a RANGED ATTACK the sequence of events is,
    1. "Determine if the target is in range and line of sight"
    2. Perform a shift (If desired)
    3. Fire


    Pretty straight forward.

    Here's the rub - based upon the way the rules are written, the 2nd and 3rd points of the sequence imply that you must have range and LOS prior to the shift...and the last point invalidates the first three...as follows:

    Ranged Attack:
    • Ranged Attacks may not be performed while engaged. (Not relevant to this discussion)

    • A unit must have a Ranged Attack, and a viable target within their maximum range (including after their shift, see below). By saying "Including after their shift", the implication is that they must have it PRIOR TO their shift, and maintain it afterwards

    • When a unit performs a Ranged Attack, it may first shift up to 2”, so long as, at the end of that shift, a viable target is still within their maximum range and Line of Sight. Again by adding the stipulation that the target is "still within..." again implies that the target must start off that way in order to be valid.

    • Once this shift is completed, the unit will then select 1 enemy unit in Line of Sight and within range of its Ranged Attack and resolve an attack against that enemy. This implies that targeting occurs AFTER the shift...which refutes the wording of the 2nd and 3rd lines.

    My assumption is that, unlike "Charge" which has a very specific sequence requirement, the requirements for ranged are determined after the shift - due to line 4. And, if so, the 2nd and 3rd lines should be edited to reflect that. And based upon that, the actual sequence should be:


    1. Shift
    2. "Determine if the target is in range and line of sight"
    3. Fire


    What is the actual answer?

    M.

  2. #2

    Default

    Not sure why you'd be seeing people debating this, its directly addressed in the FAQ:


    Q: Can a unit Shift into range when it makes a Ranged Attack, or must it already have a valid target within range to begin with?
    A: A target must be valid after the Shift. This effectively means units with Long Range can initiate Ranged Attacks from 14”, and Short Range 8”.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    Not sure why you'd be seeing people debating this, its directly addressed in the FAQ:


    Q: Can a unit Shift into range when it makes a Ranged Attack, or must it already have a valid target within range to begin with?
    A: A target must be valid after the Shift. This effectively means units with Long Range can initiate Ranged Attacks from 14”, and Short Range 8”.
    As I articulated above, the way the rule is worded creates a conflict in intent. This is evidenced by needing an FAQ ruling to clear it up. Since the rule books are evolving, a rewrite of this particular process might be in order to put this one to bed...

    M

  4. #4

    Default

    Hello, because we have a disagreement with my group, finally which is the correct answer, can I declare a range attack if I do not have LOS before the shift? Can someone help us clear it up? Thanks!

  5. #5

    Default

    Alliser's reply covers it: you can. It's in the FAQ which rules it. Period.
    Source: FAQs S01-2021 p.2 (since Alliser's quote doesn't seem to convince you guys)


  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleman View Post
    Alliser's reply covers it: you can. It's in the FAQ which rules it. Period.
    Source: FAQs S01-2021 p.2 (since Alliser's quote doesn't seem to convince you guys)

    I think this FAQ clears up the valid target of the range attack and not if you can declare a ranged attack if a target is not in Line Of sight in the beginning. Can someone maybe from the design team help us with this issue? Thanks again for your help.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grafnasos View Post
    I think this FAQ clears up the valid target of the range attack and not if you can declare a ranged attack if a target is not in Line Of sight in the beginning. Can someone maybe from the design team help us with this issue? Thanks again for your help.
    The FAQ question very plainly says that the target only needs to be valid after the shift.

    I don't know what else anyone or anything can say to you to reinforce the point that everyone else has said.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alliser Thorne View Post
    The FAQ question very plainly says that the target only needs to be valid after the shift.

    I don't know what else anyone or anything can say to you to reinforce the point that everyone else has said.
    The only confusion is that in melee or in charge you need to have a line of sight to the target before (to declare the attack), so as you say and I understand at the range attack (it doesn't matter, no need to see the target for declaring the range attack as the other attacks. it's something different ) you only need to say that ''I will make a ranged attack'' and after the shift, you can choose which valid target you will hit if you have. So, So what happens if you don't have a valid target after the shift? Does the Unit remain in the shifted position (2inch) and looses the attack?


    sry if I insist but we have many different opinions and we want to be correct in the answer we give.


    Thanks to all for the help!
    Last edited by Grafnasos; 07-01-2022 at 02:57 AM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grafnasos View Post
    The only confusion is that in melee or in charge you need to have a line of sight to the target before (to declare the attack), so as you say and I understand at the range attack (it doesn't matter, no need to see the target for declaring the range attack as the other attacks. it's something different ) you only need to say that ''I will make a ranged attack'' and after the shift, you can choose which valid target you will hit if you have. So, So what happens if you don't have a valid target after the shift? Does the Unit remain in the shifted position (2inch) and looses the attack?


    sry if I insist but we have many different opinions and we want to be correct in the answer we give.


    Thanks to all for the help!
    You can literally check and measure range and any distance at any time. There is no case where it is a "surprise" to find no target after a shift, it can always be checked before the action.

    You are also taking 1 section of the rules dealing with an entirely separate action and trying to apply its rules to an unrelated section.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->