Simultaneous Abilities and Resolution Order
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Simultaneous Abilities and Resolution Order

  1. #1

    Default Simultaneous Abilities and Resolution Order

    Simultaneous Actions – Rulebook Page 21:

    Situations may arise where both players wish to trigger an effect or play a card at the same time, or multiple effects would trigger simultaneously. When this happens, they are resolved in the following order:

    • If all effects are controlled by the same player, they may choose the order in which they resolve. • If the effects are controlled by different players, the player whose turn it is will have first opportunity to trigger their effect. If they choose not to activate any effects, then their opponent will get the opportunity to activate their effects. Once the player whose turn it is passes to their opponent, they may not then respond with their effects. They have given up their chance to do so!

    • Once both players have declared any effects they wish to trigger, those effects will then be resolved, beginning with the player whose turn it is resolving their effect first, followed by their opponent.

    Example: It is Player A’s turn and they have an ability with the trigger After this unit completes a Melee Attack. Player B has a Tactics card with the trigger After an enemy unit completes a Melee Attack. Player A declares the use of their ability. Player B, upon seeing this, decides to use their card. Player A resolves their ability which allows them to retreat from combat. Player A then completes their retreat action. Upon completing their retreat action, Player A decides to declare an Order with the trigger After this unit completes a Retreat Action.

    Question: Which resolves first, Player B’s card that was declared after the Melee Attack Action or Player A’s Order declared after the Retreat Action?

  2. #2

    Default

    Player A resolves trigger after retreat first.
    Because retreat creates new window for effects that should be resolved before player B begin to resolve his effects.

    But i think that pivot of enemy unit is part of Retreat action so it must be dont before Quick shot.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valenae View Post
    Player A resolves trigger after retreat first.
    Because retreat creates new window for effects that should be resolved before player B begin to resolve his effects.

    But i think that pivot of enemy unit is part of Retreat action so it must be dont before Quick shot.
    Did you recently change your stance on this question? Where in the rulebook does it discuss the new window?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucus Aurelius View Post
    Simultaneous Actions – Rulebook Page 21:

    Situations may arise where both players wish to trigger an effect or play a card at the same time, or multiple effects would trigger simultaneously. When this happens, they are resolved in the following order:

    • If all effects are controlled by the same player, they may choose the order in which they resolve. • If the effects are controlled by different players, the player whose turn it is will have first opportunity to trigger their effect. If they choose not to activate any effects, then their opponent will get the opportunity to activate their effects. Once the player whose turn it is passes to their opponent, they may not then respond with their effects. They have given up their chance to do so!

    • Once both players have declared any effects they wish to trigger, those effects will then be resolved, beginning with the player whose turn it is resolving their effect first, followed by their opponent.

    Example: It is Player A’s turn and they have an ability with the trigger After this unit completes a Melee Attack. Player B has a Tactics card with the trigger After an enemy unit completes a Melee Attack. Player A declares the use of their ability. Player B, upon seeing this, decides to use their card. Player A resolves their ability which allows them to retreat from combat. Player A then completes their retreat action. Upon completing their retreat action, Player A decides to declare an Order with the trigger After this unit completes a Retreat Action.

    Question: Which resolves first, Player B’s card that was declared after the Melee Attack Action or Player A’s Order declared after the Retreat Action?
    Player A's "after retreat" action. The Retreat is entirely contained within resolving Player A's original "after an attack is resolved" trigger. Once the retreat is entirely resolved (including things that trigger from it), then you can move on to Player B's declared card.

    The rulebook doesn't state this explicitly, but it's a natural consequence in terms of how the rules are written.

  5. #5

  6. #6

  7. #7

    Default

    I found Michael Shinall's response to this question on another post:

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/...-Charge-Timing

    As Michael States:
    1. Effects tied to triggers are declared first by player whose turn it is, then their opponent.
    2. Once all effects are declared, they are then resolved in alternating order (in the case of 3+).
    3. Events caused by these effects can further generate additional trigger windows for other effects as well.

    Which now provides the answer to my original post.
    Question: Which resolves first, Player B’s card that was declared after the Melee Attack Action or Player A’s Order declared after the Retreat Action?
    Answer: Player B's card, then any ability that has been triggered, continuing in alternating order by the players.

  8. #8

    Default

    This is interesting because the rulebook doesn't imply alternating ability orders at all. A good candidate for an FAQ.

  9. #9

    Default

    That's a weird answer by him and why I don't put a lot of stock into what those initial answers are on these forums. We see him state something, then someone says "Yeah, but..." and then he changes his answer. I would argue that he doesn't know that the rules don't say what he thinks they say.

    Also, the rulebook was updated for S01 and the language of ability resolution wasn't changed. So much like Gilly, shouldn't we just assume it is the way the rulebook says it works until we get something after Feb 2022?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->